A Message For the Teachers

Last year, when I was in 5th grade, I was a real nerd. In a good way! I was truly dedicated to smartness and I loved math! It was wonderful, really. I was an all A+ student, and I studied hard for all my tests and quizzes. Oh! The good old days… This year, I don’t know what happened. Maybe it’s just me- my dedication? My organization? My attitude? My study habits? Or maybe it’s my teachers. My math teacher really ought to give us more interactive and interesting material. We’ve only done 1 project all year! The other day, as I was going home, it was winter break. School was out, and I was overjoyed!!! I may have also been hyper because I had had a bit too much sugar… But that’s off the point. I passed my math teacher Mr Johnson ( as we will call the teacher as to protect his identity). “Happy Winter Break!” I remember calling to him happily. ” Make sure to have fun and enjoy your break with your family!” What he did will shock you. He stared at me for a moment, then he stalked off in the other direction, pulling his drab gray classroom cart behind him.

After that, I wasn’t too motivated to perform my best in math class. My performance went down, and I lost interest in the subject. Mr Johnson didn’t pay any individual attention to any of us, and the whole class slept during 5th block accelerated math. It really is sad. But now, just because my math teacher wouldn’t pay attention to me, wouldn’t allow me to dig any deeper than the state standards, woudln’t acknowlege me in the halls… Now my grades are going down. Now I am no longer excited about math. No longer am I exploring the wonderful world of math on my own time. This is why I have a message to you, teachers! Listen up! Please, please talk to your students outside of class. Allow them to dig deeper into the subjects they are interested in. Show them the magical world of learning. Don’t be a stiff stranger! Don’t close the doors to enjoyment of learning, like what almost happened to me! It really is terrible to feel like all the brains are being sucked out of you, and all the learning doors are being slammed shut in your face  by your own teacher. I really used to enjoy math. Now…  Now I can’t even remember how to do 5 digit division and multiplication. Teachers! Please listen to me!

2 Replies to “A Message For the Teachers”

  1. Nice blog

  2. erms3lilly16 says: Reply

    I can totally see our math teacher doingt that! I definetly relate to this post, thanks for sharing!
    -Lilly

Leave a Reply